The “Chottie”


"Special Cold Chottie"

My beloved caffeine enamored friends, it is time to introduce the chottie, the delectable drink pictured above (which, coincidentally, was quickly consumed by me this morning). The idea of the chottie was born on one of our monthly customer satisfaction reports when we read the comments left by an apparently satisfied customer.

The transcript is recorded as follows:

Question: “What was your favorite thing about this visit to Starbucks?”

Respondent: “That I went in for a vanilla bean drink and left out with a special hot chottie.”

Immediately upon reading these words, several questions came to mind. Why is it a good thing that this customer left with a drink other than the one he or she wanted? I suppose a barista might have convinced them to purchase something different, but even if this is true, it is impossible to ignore the next two queries: What is a hot chottie and why is it special?

Not being able to sufficiently explain either of these, a few of my fellow partners and I decided that a chottie should be anything the maker of the drink wants it to be. Thus, if I’m thirsty for something delicious, I’ll ask the barista on bar to make me either a special hot chottie or a special iced chottie.

And you know what? It’s always good. Maybe this mystery customer was on to something after all…

Published in: on July 14, 2009 at 10:06 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://baristajim.wordpress.com/2009/07/14/the-chottie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds divine. Can you pass this on to the writers of the Starbucks Handbook and drink guide so we can make this a universal beverage. I want one now.

    • Sounds good…oh, one of my shifts made me a diving special cold chottie yesterday…it was essentially a caramel macchiato, only with a scoop or two of vanilla bean powder and a smidgen of mocha sauce on top. It was super sweetly coma-inducing, but incredible nonetheless.

  2. One day I will visit you at work and you will make me a chottie. Yes? Yes.

  3. my favourite special hot chotties are tall, dark, eye opening, and rich.

  4. i Think a song about your Barista adventures is in need to be written Soon?

  5. Jimmy,
    How do you make a chottie?

    • A chottie is a drink made by a barista…what goes into that drink is up to them, as long as you specify certain things you would not like in it. The better the barista, the better the chottie.


Leave a comment